Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Electric Avenue
Title: Chapter 41 04 Oct 2021 1:48 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Great to have an update and I love the thought of Sirius as a service dog. I’m so sorry you are having such a tough time with COVID. People in the health service have been such heroes and we all admire everything you do.

    Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! It's honestly such a relief to be able to get back to writing, you have no idea!
Title: Chapter 41 03 Oct 2021 12:56 pm
Reviewer: Kyralian (Signed) [Report This]
    Sirius as a well-trained dog is so not going to work ;p nice chapter

    Author's Response: Yeah, he'd actually make a terrible service dog. Lol!
Title: Chapter 41 02 Oct 2021 11:59 pm
Reviewer: Shellie (Signed) [Report This]
    This is FANTASTIC! Too many good things to point them out, but you have come back with a bang. I hope this means we are back to your once a week posting but I can understand the strain you are under. I am relieved you are okay and looking forward to more of your other stories as well.

    Author's Response: Sorry for scaring you! Yeah, I just needed a bit of a break. I'm hopeful for the once a week postings, but I'm not going to hold myself to that schedule as rigorously. That being said: update incoming today.
Title: Chapter 41 02 Oct 2021 4:18 pm
Reviewer: fringie7 (Signed) [Report This]
    Yay! So glad you’re back! Hopefully Harry has some better fortune soon :)

    Author's Response: Lol... Uh.... Christmas is right around the corner (in the story) and I'm staying consistent with my writing style. I'm going to leave that there....
Title: Chapter 41 02 Oct 2021 4:16 pm
Reviewer: Cayj (Signed) [Report This]
    Real life always comes first of course but I am ecstatic you're back! And with such an awesome chapter at that. I knew Sirius wouldn't sit on this for long and I'm glad they were able to come up with a way to let him and harry see each other. Doing it as a service dog wad even funnier

    Author's Response: Honestly, I couldn't not do it that way! It's too damn perfect and I needed a laugh!
Title: Chapter 40 18 Sep 2021 2:05 pm
Reviewer: Ella (Signed) [Report This]
    It's been a while since you updated, (no pressure at all) but I was thinking about this story today and just wanted to make sure all is well. I saw your reply to another user, I'm in Australia so we've largely escaped Covid but I can imagine how crazy it must be. However,
    Even if things in life aren't going well, know that you have given a escape to so many people in your writing and that your stories made enough of a impact on me that I think about it all the time! Make sure you're taking care of yourself Author x

    Author's Response:

    I know, I know. Life's been a bit crazy here. Things are going ok, just... annoying. Truly annoying. I've been really lucky that the only person in my family to have gotten Covid was my younger sister and she didn't even realize she had it until after they tested her. She had gotten it from her roommate who tested positive, so she and her other roommate got tested even though they weren't feeling ill at all. She didn't start feeling sick until after they 'swabbed her brain' and even then just felt like she had a really nasty sinus infection.

    I am definitely taking care of myself, which is part of the reason there haven't been many updates. Sometimes you just can't crank out 5k word chapters every week, lol!

    Stay safe!

Title: Chapter 40 10 Sep 2021 2:06 am
Reviewer: Cayj (Signed) [Report This]
    It's been a while since the last update and I'm not begging for one -- just hoping you're doing okay and that you and your family are safe (if that's the reason for the delay)

    Author's Response: Couple reasons for the delay. 1: Bit o' writers block. 2: Work stuff. Covid cases are up so I'm having to work a loooot more. I work 12 hour shifts and basically work and go to bed. Wear a mask y'all! 3: Just a touch o' depression rearing its ugly head. Still working on this fic, so not to worry, it's just taking longer than expected.
Title: Chapter 40 21 Aug 2021 11:24 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    I knew that Fulgur was Latin for lightning from looking up fulgurites; the glass tubes formed when lightning strikes the ground or sand. Nice concept there, DP!

    So, perhaps a higher dose of the Fulgur potion or maybe dripping it directly on Elias' scar?

    I love that Frank and Alice seem attuned to what Elias is experiencing! This is the first story I've read that has the Longbottoms up and mobile; usually, it's only Alice giving Neville a candy wrapper. I love the stories where a cure is found and they at least get to be with Neville.
    You notice that Rowling only uses them as a plot point of sympathy for Neville but never cares enough to mention them again.
    Y'all may love her but her series makes me afraid for her children!🤨

    Thanks and I'm looking forward to the next chapter too!🤗
    You might have to let me know when you post again through a FFN PM, as the "Track this story" link seems to be broken too!😣

    MelJ
Title: Chapter 38 21 Aug 2021 9:22 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Okay, Hidden Major Plotline "game":

    The Cruciatus Curse sends electrical-like impulses to *all* the nerves in the body --sort of like having a full-body cattle prod touching every single nerve ending in the body-- including the electrical synapses in the brain, not unlike the original electro-shock therapy.

    Elias nerves and muscles are reacting as though they're *still* being stimulated, like a full-body "Tens Unit" set on high with intermittent and randomized area settings.

    So, might connecting Elias to some form of electrical conduit to *pull* the remaining electrical impulses out of his body reverse the effect? Or might exposing him to an area of high electrical concentration increase his core and rejuvenate his nerves and synapses?

    I knew that the research that Harry/Elias began into electricity's correlation to magic was going to turn out to be of vital importance.

    Wasn't the research that Grindelwald was doing on mundane and magical prisoners at Nurmengard of a similar nature? I know the Nazis (and the British and Americans) did similar experiments in the concentration camps and the two were working together.

    Well, let me know how close I came.
    ---------------🥺

    I couldn't have stood hearing Elias begging me to take him home! It broke *me* and I'm not his father!
    If I'd have been Severus, I'd have called an elf to take a letter of Leave/Sabbatical or Resignation to the whiskered wanker. Called for Dobby (I'm sure he's still loyal to Harry no matter the changes!) to come and ready Spinner's End with certain changes to accommodate a very sick child. Called a Hogwarts elf to pack up his Professor's quarters and labs and take them to Spinner's End. Asked St. Mungos if they had a service that provided Home Nursing care, possibly full-time, and told the staff at St. Mungos to ready my child for discharge!
    Between Severus, Remus, Dobby (and possibly Winky), and any Home Care Nurse I'm sure they could care for Elias just as well as St. Mungos!

    The Janus Thickey Ward is where they *WAREHOUSE* people when there's no hope for recovery, like Neville's parents! No way is my CHILD being put there!

    BTW, If the Super Secret Awesome Hidden Major Plotline does turn out to be a form of electrical cure for Elias I bet it would work for the Longbottoms too! 🤞

    I'm so glad Severus trusted the Gryffindorks! You said in an earlier AN that this next arc would be "chaos"; I sure hope that doesn't mean that Sirius is going to do something stupid!

    See you soon!
    I hope you're still working on the rest of this story? I hate getting super invested in a WIP, but sometimes it's worth it even if it's never been finished.🥺
    Thanks, darlin!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 37 21 Aug 2021 5:44 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Glad to hear it's "coming together soon"👍 but here's my thing: If someone tells me that they believe they've found the cause of my child's/loved one's deteriorating condition and the catalyst is one that could re-occur at any time...

    If say, my child is found to have a lesion on his brain and the lesion has caused brain-damaging seizures at least twice, further exacerbating a pre-existing condition and can re-occur at any moment going forward, I'm going to demand that the "lesion" be immediately removed!
    Of course, I'm not from in many ways, a *backward*, Victorian-era society that's not only *not* privy to "mundane" medical advancements but would probably sneer at the suggestion due to the perception** that *we* are a primitive and "backward" society, but I do have to wonder what say, 70 rads of targeted radiation would do to old Voldy-splinter or even a sonic scalpel or laser surgery that was just beginning to be experimented with, in 1995?

    My 1st point being that the "soul container" is obviously *physically* inside the scar or it would *not* cause bruising and swelling and can, therefore, be dealt with *physically*; Severus just needs to think outside of the magical box!

    And my 2nd point is that I'm *not* going to consult with others, come to a conclusion about the cause of my loved one's life-threatening condition and go back to work! So NOT HAPPENING!

    When I came back home in 2019 after our brief separation, and I found out that Terry's Drs had found a *tumor* beneath his breast bone and that they'd *still* done nothing to follow up nor do further diagnostics(!) I was ENRAGED! I immediately got on the phone and burned up some ears and got the ball rolling!

    Turns out, they weren't terribly eager to DO *anything* because they gave Terry a "20% chance of /survival/" ("So, why should we do anything", was their thought process! Bastards!) But guess what? They KILLED the tumor in *six weeks*! Then they went on to kill his liver and then kill him! It almost feels like they were mad that someone forced them to do the *right* thing, so they retaliated! Not really, but sort of...

    I'm an action kind of person, so if there is an action that *can* be taken or *should* be taken, I want it done!

    **subtly encouraged by Dumbasf*** to promote his "Greater Good" agenda as once proposed during his planning with Grindelwald for ruling over the "muggles" for "[our] own good".

    I get the warning that it's going to maybe get worse than here, but only if someone lets slip to Dumbasf***!

    Thanks, darlin'! And thanks for letting me know about the reply feature being on the "fritz"!👍
    Appreciate ya!🤗
    MelJ

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3