Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Reviews For Electric Avenue
Title: Chapter 26 20 Aug 2021 10:10 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    So COOL! Using Draco - Pureblood Scion and a mundane "potato battery" to prove that electricity boosts magical power!

    It also explains why Eli's accidental magic was amplified at the hospital to actually eject Hermione out the door and into a wall instead of just pushing her to leave!

    Excellent! Love *some* of the arcs!

    Wow, Ron's the one using his brain; are you sure you didn't have Ron and Hermione switch bodies?

    Thanks!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 25 20 Aug 2021 9:49 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Yep, it's the old Granger from the first year: Miss high & mighty know-it-all. It really was no wonder she didn't have any friends! Though I find her lack of empathy, in this instance to be highly improbable. #1 As the child of dentists --they're still medical professionals-- she would have been exposed to all manner of medical journals and learned empathy for "afflicted" persons early. And #2, having been bullied and friendless for most of her childhood, her empathy for the "odd-man-out", the disabled, and the ostracised should have her sympathy radar going off the scale! Instead, she's acting like a "Ron" or a pureblood; someone who's never been exposed to someone with a disability!

    Welp, we'll see where Elias' "slip" goes...

    Great chapter! Love that Sev got McGonagall in on the act!

    Thanks!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 24 20 Aug 2021 9:19 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Jumping Jehosaphat! Not *another* "misunderstanding" built on faulty assumptions and lack of context!

    Colin is already off to a good start on what he'll need to go to work for the Lamestream Media of today!

    "The Daily Prophet" was *supposed* to demonstrate IRONY *not* be a blueprint for how today's media functions: Highest bidder, leftist bias, and a dumbed-down sheeple populace. "What a strange new world we live in..."

    Nice intro for Elias to the Slytherins. That Theo and the others are becoming aware is a *good* thing. While you've now got me referring to 'Mione as "Granger" and that her "fast and loose" (and expurgated!) interpretation and relay of her "meeting" with Elias has become "evidence" against him!

    He didn't ask her "blood status", he asked if she were a muggleborn and they were having as much of a conversation as Elias was capable of having with his condition and stutter, but Granger had to keep pushing, and then she began treating him as if he were mentally defective and not giving him time to finish his sentences! Then she refused to back down and give the subject and his growing sense of frustration a rest! He certainly didn't mean for his accidental magic to blow her out the door!
    But, ya know, I don't think it was just *his* accidental magic; I think it was both of them and the ambient magic and electricity combined to amplify the effect!
    But *your* Granger has to be right!

    Something else worries me: What if Moldywarts decides that he wants Sev to bring his son to meet him? The horrible thing is that Moldy is so warped he'd probably think nothing of deciding to eliminate Sev's "defective" and "inferior" half-blood offspring and think he was doing Sev a "favor".

    I still don't think that Harry got his parseltongue from Moldy (Rowling never allowed Harry to test if he still had the ability after Moldy's defeat, did she?) and I think that both Harry and TMR were Slytherin/Peverell descendants. I think Harry's came through *Lily* through a revived squib line and I'd prefer to think that *that* was Lily's protection. The resurrection blood made them "brothers" of a sort...

    Anyhoo, I was really hoping that "Hermione" would be able to help Eli with his thesis, from the muggleborn perspective. *sigh* But instead she's choosing to make herself his enemy!
    Imagine, pitting yourself against a severely disabled child! Your Granger's got some problems!

    See ya!🤗
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 23 20 Aug 2021 8:04 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow, sure wish someone would have done something like this in canon, but instead, Rowling chose to make accomplices of every. single. adult. --and even Ron, Hermione, and Neville-- in Harry's life! Her attempts to force the idea that this is NORMAL for her alternate universe: One that's "amazingly" identical to ours in all other aspects except for one: Child abuse, neglect, and bullying are systematically *ignored* and/or dismissed by the entire population; even close relatives and "best friends"!

    *That* is what makes me want to projectile vomit whenever anyone brings up how much they "*love*" the HP books!

    Really? Live through Harry's life! I predict that her next book(s) will be about how much abducted and sex trafficked babies and children really "love" their short, horrific lives. I wouldn't put it past her or Bloomsbury!

    Good for Nev! He's paying attention and taking note! I'm proud of him for speaking up too!

    Thanks! Good chapter!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 22 20 Aug 2021 7:37 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Wow, you did an exceptional job describing the reality of watching a Gran Mal seizure!

    I know, I grew up watching my brothers have them along with Petit Mal and a rare one that only my younger brother has: Psycho-Motor seizures.

    My older brother is 3 yrs & 9 mos older than me and due to some kind of genetic malfunction, the boys on my mother's side (up to and including my brothers, though neither of my sons were affected, thank Y'shua!) are afflicted with some form of mental retardation; some lightly and others more noticeably.
    When I was 6 mos old & my sister was 17 mos old, Mark, my brother got outside, climbed the rose trellis, and fell off the carport roof fracturing his skull, while my mother was napping with us girls.
    This caused severe brain trauma and was the catalyst for his epileptic disorder.

    My younger brother, Michael, is nearly 3 yrs younger than me and, as my mother was a full-blown alcoholic and prescription drug abuser when she was pregnant with him, he was born with FAS in *combination* with the genetic disorder caused him to be *much* lower functioning than Mark. He had his first seizure soon after birth.

    Both Mark & Michael grew up within the family, so are much more socially outgoing and "normal" at least to my sister and I. Mark is between 11 and 14, depending on if you ask him to take out the trash (11) or if he's primping to attend a dance at his workshop (14)! Mark turned 63 this year and Michael turned 57.
    When Mark was around 14/15 he suddenly became able to communicate *while having a Gran Mal* which astounded his doctors! He describes it as feeling like he's experiencing an "earthquake". Even more amazing is that in his 20s he, like Elias, began to be able to feel a seizure's onset, and even more so is that he's able to "fight them off" if he catches them in time!
    Mark and Michael are typical *kids* most of the time. Mark lives with my sister since our mother passed in '98 and Michael lives in "Assisted Living" as he has too many disabilities to cope with in a family situation. On top of his barely controlled epilepsy, Michael's also legally blind and suffers from motor control difficulties, and has to wear head protection due to falling. But he's cheerful and still wants to "Be a paramedic when he 'grows up'!" His mental age is between 3 & 4.

    This is my life and who I grew up with and we all suffered under abusive alcoholics.

    That's how I know what seizures look like and how to deal with them. I learned at a very early age.

    MelJ
Title: Chapter 21 20 Aug 2021 6:40 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    I've got another bad feeling that this bitch is going to insist that Elias join Defense classes or "tutoring" in which she'll enjoy turning him into her "whipping boy". She's a sadistic pig and my 2nd most hated character in the books after Dumblewhore.

    MelJ
Title: Chapter 20 20 Aug 2021 6:20 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    So, are you going with "Hermione bashing"? Her refusal to look at her own behavior during the encounter with Elias AND lack of empathy --shown by her *failure* to impart the particulars of "Elias'" extremely ill appearance, his uncontrollable spasms, and his stutter--towards the obviously *very* ill kid are very telling and send up a large red flag that she is behaving extremely OOC with the exception of the original train ride. By 5th year, Hermione had seriously toned down her bossy/snooty behavior.
    I've got a bad feeling...

    Another thing that's got me mad is Remus running to the MOB to tell him of his first meeting with Elias and Severus! And don't think I didn't catch Dumblefu**'s dismissive attitude; the insufferable old prick!!
    Why would Remus think it was acceptable to breach his obligation relationship to his PRIVATE student?!
    Now, I don't trust Remus either!

    MelJ
Title: Chapter 19 20 Aug 2021 5:39 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Dang! *I'd* have liked to hear "Elias'" pseudo-backstory from front to back: What parts of the truth might they have tried to incorporate and which out of whole cloth?
    Known: Sev & Elias' mother were not married. Sometime early in Lily's/fake mum's pregnancy, she was crucioed which already had an effect on Baby Snape. Elias has been tutored/homeschooled due to his medical issues. Mum died and Elias was sent to live with mum's relative; which says that Sev wasn't aware of Eli's existence and/or medical problems. Despite Eli's worsening condition, he was forced to work for non-magicals for his living and could not afford his potions. A sudden seizure at work caused Eli to be injured and he was sent to a mundane hospital where his history of abuse & neglect were uncovered and documented and Severus' paternity was noted and Sev was notified.

    Confusion/Unknown: When did Sev discover he had a child? Why did he not tell anyone if he did know? If his previous caregivers were abusing & neglecting him, why would they pay money for tutors/homeschooling and expensive medical treatment?

    This has all got to "gel" and form a cohesive and plausible story and since someone (Tonks) could easily get the records of Elias' hospital stay, what he told them that raised the red flags for the staff would be uncovered by any semi-literate investigator, so I *hope* that Sev's/Elias' "story" is a good one!

    I'm not so much concerned about Remus and Siri eventually accepting Elias --He is *still* *Lily's* child!-- but just how much "influence" the MOB, "the great 'Svengali'" has over them! I'm sure he's never told anyone his belief that Harry must be a "lamb to the slaughter" of Moldy to defeat him, but his ability to suck people in with his "caring Grandfather" bs --along with a few well-used compulsions-- is/has been enough to manipulate even someone as suspicious as Snape!
    Canon Fumbleduck's casual dismissal of Sev's "meetings" with Moldy should have alerted readers that not all was as it seemed with the MOB!

    I really loved Eli's ability to demonstrate just how far out of touch magicals are with the realities of the mundane world; even though he was "sundowning"! I laughed and applauded! Well done, Eli!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 17 20 Aug 2021 4:12 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    *Love it!* Elias actually 'Slytherin'd' "Needs to get over himself, too many names" Dumblefu**!😅🤣👏👏👊

    Sev might not be 100% happy but I think Elias rocked!

    Btw, what's with this "Dumblef*** thinks he's going to be allowed to look at Elias' medical stuff" crap? Not if Elias was MY son! Dingleberry can go have sex with himself before I let him see such privileged information! Dummy's NOT a Dr or Healer or any other kind of medical professional! How DARE he?!🤬

    Don't you let him! Sorry to say, but if you do, I'd think you don't know about medical ethics and hippa regs.
    People who are ignorant of the law read your stories too. 😏
    Tks!
    MelJ
Title: Chapter 16 20 Aug 2021 3:37 pm
Reviewer: LtsHrIt4ThBoys (Signed) [Report This]
    Heartbreaking but good.

    Here's the thing: Severus doesn't know that Elias had the wild magic episode in the hospital that threw Hermione from his room. So that's a piece to the big puzzle that Sev doesn't have yet, but I can't help but think it's vital!

    Was it "wild magic"? Was it "Elias'" magic at all? Or was it the Horcrux manifesting through Elias?

    I'll be really glad if Elias & Sev can start to get some good news soon!
    I'm a "glass half full" kind of gal and, sadly, never gave up that hopeful optimism about Terry's condition and continued to pray right up until the hospital took away our choices and purposefully killed my husband.

    It's another reason I no longer trust "Payrolled Drs" or hospitals.

    MelJ

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3